Campus Operations

The UK Bicycle Advisory Committee

The goal of the BAC is to cultivate a bicycle-friendly campus by educating its community about safe bicycling practices and improving bicycle facilities on campus.

The Bicycle Advisory Committee was recently reorganized following a funding agreement between the Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration (EVPFA), the Vice President for Facilities Management, and Parking and Transportation Services (PTS).The funding shall be exclusively designated for bicycle infrastructure improvements and other bicycle initiatives focused on training, assisting, enhancing, and increasing bicycle usage at the University. Many of the projects the BAC selects will be derived from the UK Bicycle Plan, but other initiatives are also being considered. If you have suggestions for the committee, please contact committee chair Stuart Kearns at stuart.kearns(at)uky(dot)edu.

Meet the Committee

The Committee is composed of faculty, staff, students and a community representative. Current committee members:

  • Stuart Kearns (Chair), Associate Director of Transportation UK PTS
  • James Baunach, Student-Wildcat Wheels Bicycle Library
  • Lance Broeking, Director of Parking and Transportation Services
  • Warren Denny, University Architect
  • Kenzie Gleason, LFUCG Bike and Pedestrian Coordinator
  • Josh Hoekstra, BCTC Faculty
  • Jamie Hopkins, Staff Psychologist
  • John Ketron, Associate Director of Field Operations UK PTS
  • Jerry Pigman, Kentucky Transportation Center
  • Jenna Day, Student-UK Student Government
  • Nik Stamatiadis, Civil Engineering Faculty
  • Shane Tedder, Sustainability Coordinator
  • Chrissie Tune, Marketing/Promotions Specialist Senior UK PTS
  • Ken Wiley, Grounds Manager Physical Plant Division
  • TBD, Student-Student Sustainability Council